The Classics
Cigars that rated 95 points or higher in Cigar Aficionado blind reviews

Have you ever wondered—what are the highest rated cigars of all time? Wonder no more. These 41 smokes are the crème de la crème of the Cigar Aficionado blind tastings, each with a “classic” rating of 95 points or higher in a standard Cigar Aficionado review. (This list does not factor in scores from our Connoisseur’s Corner reviews of vintage cigars.)

The standout is the Hoyo de Monterrey Double Corona, which earned a near-perfect 99 points in our Winter 1992 issue. The top of the list also contains three 97-point giants: Cohiba Behike BHK 52, My Father Le Bijou 1922 Torpedo Box Pressed and Padrón Serie 1926 No. 9. The remainder of the list features a variety of exceptionally complex and flavorful cigars, all of them gems, including fan favorites such as Cohiba, Fuente Fuente OpusX and Padrón Family Reserve.

In the 25 years of this magazine’s publication, only 12 cigars have scored 96 points; only 25 have earned 95 points. 

99 Points

Hoyo de Monterrey Double Corona Winter 1992

97 Points

Cohiba Behike BHK 52 2010 Cigar of the Year

My Father Le Bijou 1922 Torpedo Box Pressed 2015 Cigar of the Year

Padrón Serie 1926 No. 9 2007 Cigar of the Year

96 Points

Alec Bradley Prensado Churchill 2011 Cigar of the Year

Cohiba Robusto Autumn 1992

Cohiba Siglo V Spring 1993

Flor de las Antillas Toro 2012 Cigar of the Year

Hoyo de Monterrey Double Corona Spring 1995

La Flor de Cano Short Churchill Autumn 1992

La Flor Dominicana Andalusian Bull 2016 Cigar of the Year

Montecristo No. 2 2013 Cigar of the Year

Oliva Serie V Melanio Figurado 2014 Cigar of the Year

Padrón Serie 1926 80 Years Maduro 2008 No. 2

Punch Double Corona December 1999

Ramon Allones Specially Selected 2015 No. 2

95 Points

Aging Room Quattro F55 Concerto 2013 No. 2

CAO Flathead V660 Carb 2015 No. 3

Cohiba 1966 Edición Limitada 2011 2012 No. 2

Cohiba Esplendido April 2017

Cohiba Siglo III Spring 1993

Cohiba Behike BHK 54 June 2013

Davidoff Nicaragua Toro 2013 No. 3

E.P. Carrillo La Historia E-III 2014 No. 2

Fuente Fuente OpusX Belicoso XXX 2010 No. 3 

Fuente Fuente OpusX Double Corona 2005 Cigar of the Year

Fuente Fuente OpusX PerfecXion No. 2 2007 No. 2

Illusione Fume d’Amour Clementes 2014 No. 3

La Aroma de Cuba Mi Amor Belicoso 2011 No. 2

La Flor Dominicana Salomon April 2009

Montecristo No. 2 June 2000

Padrón 1964 Anniversary Series “A” June 2009

Padrón Family Reserve No. 45 Maduro 2009 Cigar of the Year

Padrón Family Reserve No. 45 Natural 2010 No. 4

Padrón Family Reserve No. 44 Natural December 2011

Padrón Serie 1926 80 Years Maduro April 2008

Partagás Serie P No. 2 December 2011

Punch Double Corona July 21, 2015 Cigar Insider

Rocky Patel Decade Torpedo June 2008

Rocky Patel Sun Grown Maduro Robusto 2016 No. 2

Viaje Oro Reserva VOR No. 5 2010 No. 2