Top 25 Countdown Begins

Top 25 Countdown Begins

The clock is ticking down, and soon the best cigars of the year will be revealed. In less than two weeks, the first of Cigar Aficionado’s Top 25 Cigars of 2018 will be announced at

The reveal begins with the Best Buy list, which goes public on Friday, December 14. This ever-popular list showcases high-scoring cigars that have reasonable prices, $6 or less per cigar before taxes. 

On Monday, December 17, cigars 10, 9 and 8 go live, followed by cigars 7, 6 and 5 on Tuesday the 18th and cigars 4, 3 and 2 on December 19. On Thursday, December 20, we will reveal the Cigar of the Year. 

On Friday December 21, cigars 11 through 25 will go live.

Cigar Aficionado has named 14 Cigars of the Year in its history. Seven have come from Nicaragua, three each from the Dominican Republic and Cuba, and one from Honduras. The Fuentes, Garcias and Padróns are the only companies to win multiple times, with Padrón holding the record of having been named Cigar of the Year three times.  

Cigar Aficionado's Cigars Of The Year

Year Cigar Country Rating
2004 Padrón Serie 1926 40th Anniversary Nicaragua 93
2005 Fuente Fuente OpusX Double Corona Dom. Rep. 95
2006 Bolivar Royal Corona Cuba 94
2007 Padrón Serie 1926 No. 9 Nicaragua 97
2008 Casa Magna Colorado Robusto Nicaragua 93
2009 Padrón Family Reserve No. 45 Maduro Nicaragua 95
2010 Cohiba Behike BHK 52 Cuba 97
2011 Alec Bradley Prensado Churchill Honduras 96
2012 Flor de Las Antillas Toro Nicaragua 96
2013 Montecristo No. 2 Cuba 96
2014 Oliva Serie V Melanio Figurado Nicaragua 96
2015 My Father Le Bijou 1922 Torpedo Box Pressed Nicaragua 97
2016 La Flor Dominicana Andalusian Bull Dom. Rep. 96
2017 Arturo Fuente Don Carlos Eye of the Shark Dom. Rep. 97