The Top 25 Cigars of 2019 Reveal Schedule

The Top 25 Cigars of 2019 Reveal Schedule

Grab a cutter, a lighter, a glass of your favorite spirit and settle in: the Top 25 Cigars of 2019 are almost here.

Each year since 2004, Cigar Aficionado has reviewed the highest-scoring cigars from the year to conduct a special new tasting of only these cigars. These are repurchased, rebanded and tasted blind against each other until a new Top 25 list emerges, and one standout smoke is crowned Cigar of the Year.

This year’s list will begin before many go on holiday break in hopes of giving enthusiasts ample time to track down there favorites before the festivities start.

This schedule for this year’s Top list will be as follows:

Monday, December 16: Cigars 10, 9 and 8
Tuesday, December 17: Cigars 7, 6 and 5
Wednesday, December 18: Cigars 4, 3 and 2
Thursday, December 19: The 2019 Cigar of the Year
Friday, December 20: Cigars 11 through 25

For three years straight, the Cigar of the Year has hailed from the Dominican Republic. Nicaragua, however, can claim bragging rights for producing the most No. 1 cigars, with seven.

Cigar Aficionado's Cigars Of The Year

Year Cigar Country Rating
2004 Padrón Serie 1926 40th Anniversary Nicaragua 93
2005 Fuente Fuente OpusX Double Corona Dom. Rep. 95
2006 Bolivar Royal Corona Cuba 94
2007 Padrón Serie 1926 No. 9 Nicaragua 97
2008 Casa Magna Colorado Robusto Nicaragua 93
2009 Padrón Family Reserve No. 45 Maduro Nicaragua 95
2010 Cohiba Behike BHK 52 Cuba 97
2011 Alec Bradley Prensado Churchill Honduras 96
2012 Flor de Las Antillas Toro Nicaragua 96
2013 Montecristo No. 2 Cuba 96
2014 Oliva Serie V Melanio Figurado Nicaragua 96
2015 My Father Le Bijou 1922 Torpedo Box Pressed Nicaragua 97
2016 La Flor Dominicana Andalusian Bull Dom. Rep. 96
2017 Arturo Fuente Don Carlos Eye of the Shark Dom. Rep. 97
2018 E.P. Carrillo Encore Majestic Dom. Rep. 96