Cigar Aficionado

New Board Members for CRA

The Cigar Rights of America announced today that Jorge Padrón of Padrón Cigars will be returning to its governing board after a brief hiatus. In addition, it was announced that president of North America of Davidoff of Geneva Distribution Inc., James Young, is now a board member.

Jorge Padrón
Jorge Padron portrait.

"Jorge Padrón has walked the halls of Congress to tell the story of why premium cigars are unique, and he understands the role of politics in defending this industry," said Glynn Loope, executive director of the CRA, in a press release. "His dedication to the preservation of this art form will again work for those that have a passion for great cigars."

As the newest board member, Young will draw not only on his experience at Davidoff, a post he has held since September 2011, but also from his time served as president of Guinness U.S.A.

Jim Young
Jim Young portrait.

"We are excited about Jim Young assuming this leadership role for this industry. His experience within the beer and spirits industry will serve us well as we confront a new set of threats to the manufacturing, retailing, and enjoyment of premium cigars," said Loope.

Additionally, Jeff Borysiewicz of Corona Cigar Co. and a founding member of CRA, was re-elected as Chairman of the Board.

In addition to Jeff Borysiewicz, Jorge Padrón and Jim Young, other members of the board include: Robert Levin, Ashton Distributors; Carlito Fuente, Arturo Fuente Cigars; Rocky Patel, Rocky Patel Premium Cigars; Litto Gomez, La Flor Dominicana; Marvin Samel, Drew Estate Cigars; Bobby Newman, J.C. Newman Cigar Co.; Mark Brownlee, Consumer Member of Illinois; Gary Pesh, Old Virginia Tobacco Co.; and Arthur Zaretsky of Famous Smoke Shop.