Starting December 31, anyone looking to buy cigars—or any form of tobacco—in the state of Massachusetts will have to be 21 years old. Recently, Gov. Charlie Baker signed a bill raising the tobacco-purchase age from 18 to 21 years old.
The passing of the bill, which was signed on July 27, means that Massachusetts will become the sixth state to raise its tobacco-buying age to 21 years old. The new law will cover all tobacco products, including handmade cigars.
Currently, more than 330 cities, states and counties in the United States have laws requiring a person to be 21 years old to buy tobacco products.