Oregon is now the fifth state to raise the legal age to purchase tobacco products, including cigars, to 21 years old.
Last week, Gov. Kate Brown signed a bill that increases the minimum age to legally buy tobacco products from 18 years old to 21. The new law will go into effect on January 1, 2018.
Additionally, the new law aims to crack down on vendors who sell to underage buyers by establishing fines that range from $50 up to $1,000 after multiple offenses.
Oregon joins Maine, New Jersey, Hawaii and California as the only other states to raise their minimum tobacco-purchase age to 21. Additionally, about 260 cities and counties have raised their age limits to 21 years old.
Log in if you're already registered.
Search our database of more than 17,000 cigar tasting notes by score, brand, country, size, price range, year, wrapper and more, plus add your favorites to your Personal Humidor.